Project Updates: Impetus

I’ve started  a new project, in a new medium, with a not-so-new (though still delightful) partner. Since it’s still in the development stages, it’s the new shiny toy, and I get really excited about working on it all the time. Which is good, because I’m making progress on it, but bad because I’ve kind of ignored all other projects. But I’ve got impetus now, and that can’t be ignored. So onwards with the shiny toy!

This project started with a branding meeting. As an enterprising young creative, I was meeting with a design-minded friend about business cards and a general image that I’d like to put out on the interwebs, and as we were discussing more interesting ways of saying that I try to string words together prettily, we found the word ‘inkslinger.’ It was too cool of a word to ignore, and I had the idea that there should really be a comic about a character called inkslinger. While I’ve mastered the delicate art of stick-figures, that’s really all I can do, and xkcd sort of cornered the market on the whole stick-figure thing. But magically, my design-minded friend was looking for an excuse to draw more. And thus a new enterprise was born.

In my mind, this project started out as real fluff, just fun little bits here and there, but the truth is that that probably would not have worked so well for me, being that writing is more my forte and drawing really is NOT (except for the stick figures of course). Luckily, it sort of organically grew into its own niche and expanded outwards into a much grander and better idea. It’s the kind of project that when I get home from a meeting about it, I’m bubbling with excitement and ideas, and sit down to immediately start scribbling things and pinning up questions that keep opening up onto my corkboard. In the last meeting, I asked about whether or not one of our characters should be called something other than what we call him, and that directly lead to a existential debate as it relates to our little webcomic.

There are projects that are just fun and exciting, and there are projects that are engaging. And those are wonderful.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Donald

     /  May 21, 2012

    cant wait to start reading your webcomic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

